another snapshot from the archives

Yes, this is another cheat… But I think I’ve shared enough pictures of boxes this week, and frankly I’ve become obsessed with my own ability to accumulate loads of stuff at home, at the office, and it seems everywhere else.

This is a picture of Mom and me on Halloween in 1987. Our family was in Calgary for the Olympics figure skating trials, and we stayed in a hotel across from the city’s tower. For some reason, my little brother is cut out of this picture, but I have to assume he is also dipping into his candy while the picture is being taken. Chances are, given my general inability to select just one Halloween costume each year (robot princess! robot She-Ra!) I believe I was a cat cowboy…. Somehow I still remember that candy as some of the best, marshmallowiest candy ever received during any Halloween festivities. And I just love the way my stylish mother is laughing at the camera in this picture.

Leave a Reply

